马歇尔.维安.萨摩斯
于1989年1月1日
在纽约州奥尔巴尼接收

关于本教程

你在这篇教程里读到的是天使圣团通过信使马歇尔.维安.萨摩斯讲话的原版声音的抄录。

在此,上帝超越文字的原版沟通,被护佑这个世界的天使圣团转译成人类的语言和理解。然后圣团通过信使发送上帝的讯息,之后它被抄录并被提供给你和所有民众。

在这个非凡过程里,启示的声音重新发言了。那文字和那声音就在世界上。这是历史上首次,原版口述启示的录音被提供给你和世界去体验。

愿你成为这个启示礼物的接收者,愿你敞开接收它给你、给你的生命的独特讯息。

关系和更高宗旨
第二部 > 关系和更高宗旨 > 第十章

你在生命里迟早必须和某个事物结婚。或许是一个人,或许是在世界上服务一个伟大事业的一组人。或许是一个事业。或许是别的事物,但它必然涉及其他人。你必须和某个人结婚。和一个想法结婚是没有意义的。

婚姻,就其最真实的意义而言,是你在一个关系里体验一个更伟大实相。真正的婚姻不只是走进教堂宣称婚誓。真正的婚姻是一种结合、一种臣服、一种承诺。它是你的思想和身体——这些代表你分离身份的尖峰——与另一个人的结合。真正的婚姻是在一定程度上放弃一种分离的生活,它是对灵性成长的一种承诺。这是婚姻的真正精髓。在此你并非放弃你自己。相反,你获得一个更伟大自我。在此你不只有一个思想帮助你,你有两个思想。你不只有一个身体,你有两个身体。如果你的婚姻是和一组人,那你就有更多的思想和更多的身体。在此你智慧的资源增加了。这会超越任何的个体受限感。

除非你真正和某人结婚,除非你完全奉献你自己,否则你依然束缚于你的想象里,你依然被你的想法笼罩着。没有内识的想象是混乱的,它给你的思想造成困惑和黑暗。而带着内识的想象是喜悦的创造和表达的一个源泉。无论你独身度过你的生命,还是你是一个家庭型的人,你都必须与他人实现深刻联接。

真正的婚姻在第三个发展阶段变得绝对必要。任何缺乏婚姻的事物在此都不再有意义。这是因为任何缺乏婚姻中这种更深刻承诺的东西,都无法将一个更伟大愿景和更高宗旨带进世界。如果你要成为一个家庭型的人,你会与你的伴侣结婚,你与你的后代维系在一起。你承诺你自己去致力于他们的福祉,你供养他们。当你这样做时,你会看到你与他们没有分离。虽然你依旧是一个个体,虽然你在你内在依然拥有你的庇护所,但你的生命与他人编织在一起。这改变了你的命运和天命,并提供了一个否则你将无法拥有的回报。

世界上每天有很多婚姻在缔结和破裂着。有很多的契约和协议。有很多对于奉献和献身的尝试。然而除非内识是你的基础;除非你已到达那个节点,在那里真正的婚姻成为一种必要而非只是一个选择;除非你已做好准备在这种层面上建立关系,否则你的婚姻只不过是一种尝试。就算你因为正确的原因珍视婚姻,这依然是事实。正因为如此,你必须进行准备。

从某种程度上说,在真正的婚姻里,你放弃你自己。然而在此,你实际上只是放弃你对自己的一个幻觉。在此,在一定程度上,你解除与你自我限制性的想法之间的婚姻,并在与另一个人关系的背景里重新建立婚姻。本质上,你总是与某种事物联姻着,因为你总是在承诺给某种事物。说你不做承诺是不正确的。这是虚假的。世界上的每个人都在承诺给某种事物,世界上的每个人都在服务某种事物,世界上的每个人都在教导某种事物,因为你必须承诺,你必须服务,你必须教导。这是身处世界的一个天然职能。这是无可逃避的。在此,关键是你参与的品质、方向和意义,因为无论如何你都会参与。

在真正的婚姻里,你在一定程度上放弃你自己。你获取回来的是一个更伟大自我。在此,你不是逃避分离的所有问题。你是在承担一系列新问题。例如,如果你是单身人士,你和某个人结婚了,你放弃了某些问题,换来了另一些问题。有些问题是同样的,不过是在一个更广大背景里。你依然必须挣钱过活,但现在你不只为你自己挣钱过活。你必须和你的伴侣共同分享,并供养你的后代。供养是非常重要的,因为婚姻的本质是供养,而非自我满足。不过真正的供养带来惊人的满足感。事实上,这是最令人满足的事情,因为它带来持久的满足和贡献。

两个进入真正婚姻的人,要么必须供养他们的后代,要么必须供养世界上的其他事物,因为所有真正的婚姻都超越它自身供养着某种事物。这区分着真正的婚姻和两个人间的暂时结合,在此他们试图逃离他们的孤单并利用彼此来获得个人满足。

如果你看向世界,你会发现真正的婚姻似乎非常少见。这是因为没有很多人处在第三发展阶段。第一发展阶段的婚姻不同于第二发展阶段的婚姻,第三发展阶段的婚姻完全不同于前两个阶段的婚姻。

很少的婚姻能够从第一阶段走向第二阶段,更少婚姻能够从第二阶段走向第三阶段。因此,如果其中一个人走向下一个阶段,那么人们通常会离婚。在此,那个人意识到他必须前行,并且发现他的伴侣不能或不愿与他同行。无论他们之间存在着怎样的协议和合作,这都是事情的真相。在此,婚姻往往会失败,因为它们无法跟上所涉及个人的自然进化。

真正的婚姻必须供养他人,因为两个人在一起所产生的东西,远远超出他们自身的个人需要。他们将成为真正社区里他们周遭人们的一个源泉。这是真正婚姻的结果。而在之前,在前两个阶段里,人们或许在努力为他人奉献,并在一定程度上取得成功,可在第三阶段,婚姻的价值和精髓则成为滋养他人的一个真正源泉。

人、动物、植物及其他所有生命体的生命都是为了供养。大自然完全是为了供养。它不颂扬个体。它通过个体来表达它自己。通过这种方式,个体变得伟大和必要,但不会被赋予超越他人的排序或优先权。这源于自然。如果你观察你周遭的生命,你会意识到人类可以从自然学习很多东西,从而使他们自己变得更自然。在此,必须摒弃很多,这是可以实现的,因为内识和你同在。

在三个发展阶段里,同样存在着三个婚姻阶段。每一个有着不同的着重点。通常来说,第一阶段的婚姻是关于个体安全感。第二阶段的婚姻是关于个体探索。第三阶段的婚姻是关于个体贡献。虽然会有问题呈现,并需要贯穿所有阶段的持续性学习,但上述是主要的着重点。

在这三阶段的每一个阶段里,都有一个婚姻中的臣服过程。在每个阶段里,你获得某些东西,并且你放弃某些东西来得到另外的东西。你所获得的和你所放弃的东西将决定你将拥有的婚姻类型,以及它最终能够和你走多远。

最终,真正的臣服能够让你的身体服务你的思想,让你的思想服务你的精神,即上帝的一个表达。在此,臣服重建你内在权威的正确次序。然而,很多人认为臣服是你为了别的东西而放弃你真正想要的东西,或是你把你的权力交给别人。这是很多处于前两个阶段的人常常做出的假设。然而,真正的臣服是发现你是谁、你为何在此、你需要做什么以及你的礼物是什么。在此,为了给这一伟大发现扫清道路,你自愿放弃一些事物。在此,牺牲是渺小的,回报是非常巨大的。

第一阶段的婚姻通常专注于诸如快乐、情感安定、财务安全之类,有些还为了社会优势。为了获得这些,人们有意或无意地牺牲他们的自由,他们的自我坦诚,他们的正直和他们的灵性成长。这很常见。它或许在强调爱,但这是一种非常有限的爱的体验,它的主要着重点是自我满足,或者换句话说,是得到你想要的东西。在经历一个迷人的浪漫期之后,当开始面对真正生活的要求时,这些关系会发生剧烈挣扎。当人们在这些关系中前行时,当他们努力保护他们在共同财产和财务安定中的投资时,真正的亲密感和坦诚趋于干涸。孩子往往成为守在一起的原因,这让孩子因为他们父母越来越不快乐的关系而承受内疚和谴责。

迟早,婚姻中的一个人,少数情况下是两个人,将面对这个事实,即他们的婚姻是不称心的,必须进行重新评估和改变。在此,内识在这个人内心开始激荡,鼓励他们去寻求一个更伟大结合,或是与他们的伴侣,或是与别人。这个人现在正走向他发展的下一个阶段。

第二发展阶段的婚姻有着大得多的希望。在此,灵性成长和个体坦诚被赋予一个更高的优先次序,但这里依然有着对情感安定和财务安全的巨大关注。这些婚姻往往反映着参与一方或两方所体验到的内识和个人成就间不断增强的争斗。作为结果,婚姻承受着一个几乎不可能完成的任务,即在关系一方或双方的内心去平衡两个在竞争优先权的巨大力量。

在第二阶段,两人都还没有发现他们的生命究竟是为了什么,也没有清晰地感知他们要去向何方。通常,他们迟早会发现他们要去的方向与他们的伴侣不同。在此,对于情感安全和财务安定的专注开始受到威胁,并且它必须与他们内在探索带来的巨大不确定性进行竞争。在此,当人们努力理清他们个人生命方向与他们在婚姻中的承诺之间的分歧时,他们可能会放弃他们的健康,他们的财务稳定,有时甚至是他们的理智。可悲地是,很多人最终牺牲了他们对内识的自我发现,因为他们努力维护他们的婚姻及其带来的裨益。

第一阶段的婚姻有着很少的基础,并往往受到真相和真正坦诚的呈现的威胁,二者合起来通常会揭示这个关系中真正欠缺的一切。第二阶段的婚姻往往反映了更高的个人标准和目标,但它几乎总是受到一个事实的困扰,即参与者还没有在他们内在建立基于内识的基础。结果,他们努力既去满足他们的个人渴望,又去满足他们灵魂的更深刻需要,这给他们的福祉和个人安定造成巨大代价。他们在一起或许体验到真爱,但在此真爱或许会因为某些他们此刻无法理解的原因迫使他们分开。

本质上讲,第一阶段是关于依赖。第二阶段是关于独立。第三阶段是关于相互依存——依赖、独立和相互依存。第一阶段的婚姻是关于建立安全感和强化依赖性。这从根本上反对个体坦诚和内识呈现。第二阶段的婚姻更多地是关于人们通过学习独立思考和行动来发现和差异化自我。这带来个体成长,但也使关系中实现真正结合和承诺的预期非常难以实现。

试图在前两个阶段结婚是非常艰难的。无论是哪种情形,你都必须把婚姻置于危险之中,从而能够发现和遵循你内在的内识。如果没有办法做到这点,那么你最终将完全放弃你的内识,以及伴随它而来的找寻你生命中真正幸福和满足的任何希望。

你的生命注定要带你去向某个地方。它注定让你能在你的内在以及你的关系里达到真正的明晰和成熟。在此你必须放下你对个人成就的企图,从而能够自由地找到正等待着你的真正成就。这会自然地引领你经历各个发展阶段。在此,你超越依赖实现独立,这本身就是一个伟大过程。然后最终你将超越独立实现相互依存。正是在这里,婚姻有着最伟大潜能,因为你唯有在相互依存的状态里才能进入真正的婚姻。

第三阶段是相互依存阶段。在此,你开始意识到,不论你已变得多么自由和独立,但是一个人你什么都做不了。一个人,你的生命没有什么意义和前途。一个人,你只是一个潜能。为了发现你的礼物,你在你的生命里需要真正的关系,并且它们必须建立在内识之上。在此,臣服成为你渴望把你的生命奉献给那些人以及奉献给注定为你准备的更高宗旨的自然表达。在此,并非你真的让自己臣服。相反,是你的内识让你臣服。在此,你不需要纠结于你是否想把自己奉献给另一个人。这就是简单地被认知了。

过去那些被认为是重要的东西,现在变成了必要的。坦诚、正直、般配、服务世界,这些或许在前两个阶段里被尝试过,但现在它们成为关于你能和谁在一起,以及你将如何与他们参与的决定性条件。在此,关于爱的空想被驱散了,取而代之的是爱的真正力量,它与你在世界上的更高宗旨联接在一起。当你为之奉献你的生命时,真爱将自然地从你散发。可如果忽视这点,背离你的更高宗旨,那么爱将退化成疯狂的渴望和恐惧。在此,爱的救赎性恩宠和力量将被丧失。

真正的婚姻,是跨越这几个发展阶段所带来的回报。过去所寻求的东西,现在成为了真正的可能和必要。你一直在为真正的婚姻进行准备,因为真正的婚姻是你的目标。它是真正的贡献。它可以通过与另一个人,或与服务世界上一个伟大事业的很多人的结合而得到表达。无论是哪种情况,内识、般配和服务世界将一个真正的婚姻与其他所有关系区分开来。

真正的婚姻是你用一个渺小的自我换来一个更伟大自我,而不会丧失你的个体性。真正的婚姻是你的个体变成某个更伟大事物的一部分,变成某个更伟大事物的一个载体。在此,你的个体性是一项资产,而非一个债务。这给你自由,而非将你束缚起来。在前面的阶段里,你被束缚着去服务你的渴望和信仰。现在,你在服务某种更伟大的事物。这就是成就之路。

真正的婚姻在等待着你。然而你或许不知道它将会是什么样子。你或许不知道它是与另一个人之间的,还是与服务一个伟大事业的一组人之间的。你或许不知道你与另一个人的婚姻是否是为了拥有孩子。然而,真正的婚姻在等待着你。

无论何时何地,当真正的婚姻确立时,一个伟大的祝福在世界上出现了,一个奇迹得到了示范。有两个或多个人超越了他们的局限。这种联姻可能非常罕见,却是真正有益的,并有着伟大基础。它们维持了内识在世界上的存活。它们维持了人类的进步。

在真正的婚姻里,通过与另一个人一起,你能够体验你与你的内在上师及精神家庭的结合。这一结合现在在这个世界上得到表达。一旦你体验了你与你精神家庭的结合,你就不想在与另一个人的婚姻中期盼少于这种体验的任何东西。

一旦一个真正婚姻建立起来,那么对于成长的承诺必须得到开展和维护。这一渴望将会自然浮现。然而你不能疏忽,不能理所当然地认为对方将永远和你在一起。因为如果你忽视了你们必须在一起做的事情,如果你忽视了你必须在你内在面对的东西,那么即使一个有着伟大前途的婚姻也将枯萎。这个关系仍然必须得到培育和滋养。没有滋养它会死亡。它将停止前进,没有前进,它就无法维持自身。

从一个保护和维护分离的角度来看,真理看似是对个人幸福和个人成就的破坏性威胁。可是,对于内识来说,真理是一个祝福,是一个你希望能够永驻的受欢迎的、美妙的宾客,是一种如此不同于任何与之形成对照的事物的体验,一种如此全然有益和自我肯定的体验,以至久而久之你将不会去寻求别的东西。

因此,请接受真正的婚姻对你是必然的,因为你已然与你的精神家庭及你的内在上师联姻了。这一联姻必须在这个世界上,在你与他人的关系里表达它自身。请接受你已然承诺给你的精神家庭和你的内在上师。在这个世界里,你缔结和承诺给你的理想主义,直至有天你能够冲破藩篱,在你与他人真正关系的背景里体验婚姻和承诺。

As revealed to
Marshall Vian Summers
on January 1, 1989
in Albany, New York

About this Text

What you are reading in this text is the transcription of the original voice of the Angelic Assembly as it spoke through the Messenger Marshall Vian Summers.

Here, the original communication of God, which exists beyond words, is translated into human language and understanding by the Angelic Assembly who watch over the world. The Assembly then delivers God’s Message through the Messenger, whereafter it is transcribed and made available to you and to all people.

In this remarkable process, the Voice of Revelation is speaking anew. The Word and the Sound are in the world. May you be the recipient of this gift of Revelation and may you be open to receive its unique Message for you and for your life.

Relationships and Higher Purpose
Volume 2 > Relationships and Higher Purpose > Chapter 10

Sooner or later you must marry something in life. It may be a person, or it may be a group of people who are serving a great cause in the world. It may be a career. It may be something else, but it has to involve other people. You must marry someone. Marriage to an idea is not meaningful.

Marriage, in the truest sense, is where you experience a Greater Reality in a relationship. True marriage is not merely going to the church and taking vows. True marriage is a bonding, a surrender, a commitment. It is the bonding of your mind and body, those things which have been the pinnacle of your separate identity, to another. True marriage is a surrender of a separate life to a certain degree, and it is a commitment to spiritual growth. This is the very essence of marriage. You do not give yourself up here. Instead, you gain a greater self. Here you have not only one mind to help you, you have two minds. You not only have one body, you have two bodies. If your marriage is to a group of people, you have more minds and more bodies. Here your resource for wisdom grows. This can overshadow any sense of personal limitation.

Until you truly marry someone, until you give yourself that completely, you are still bound to your imagination, and you are still overshadowed by your ideas. Imagination without Knowledge is chaotic and casts confusion and darkness over your mind. Yet imagination with Knowledge is a source of joyful creation and expression. Whether you spend your life in celibacy or whether you are a family person, you must become deeply connected to other people.

True marriage becomes absolutely necessary in the third stage of development. Anything short of marriage here ceases to have value. This is because nothing short of this deeper commitment in marriage can carry a greater vision and higher purpose into the world. If you are to be a family person, you marry your partner, and you are bonded to your offspring. You commit yourself to their well-being, and you provide for them. As you do so, you will see that you are not apart from them. Though you are still an individual and though you still have your sanctuary within yourself, your life is intertwined with others. This changes your fate and your destiny and provides a reward which you could not have otherwise.

There are many marriages being made and broken every day in the world. There are contracts and agreements. There are attempts at devotion and dedication. Yet unless Knowledge is your foundation, unless you have arrived at that point where true marriage is a necessity and not merely an option, unless you have been prepared for being in a relationship at this level, your marriage will only be an attempt. This is true even if you value marriage for the right reasons. This is why you must be prepared.

To a certain extent, in true marriage, you give yourself up. Yet here you are actually only giving up an illusion about yourself. Here, to a certain degree, you are divorcing your marriage to your self-limiting ideas and re-establishing marriage within the context of your relationship with another. In essence, you are always married to something because you are always committed to something. It is not true to say you are not committed. That is false. Everyone in the world is committed to something, everyone in the world is serving something and everyone in the world is teaching something because you must be committed, you must serve and you must teach. This is a natural function of being in the world. It is inescapable. Here the emphasis is on the quality, direction and meaning of your engagement because you will be engaged either way.

In true marriage, you give yourself up to a certain degree. What you gain back is a greater self. Here you don’t escape all the problems of separation. You take on a new set of problems. For instance, if you are a single person and you get married to someone, you give up a certain set of problems for another set of problems. You have some of the same problems but in a larger context. You must still earn a livelihood, but now you have to earn a livelihood for more than yourself. You have to share that with your partner and provide for your offspring. Providership is very important because the essence of marriage is providership, not self-gratification. Yet true providership is incredibly gratifying. In fact, this is the most gratifying thing of all, for it produces lasting satisfaction and contribution.

Two people who enter into a true marriage must either provide for their offspring or provide for something else in the world because all true marriage provides for something beyond itself. This is what distinguishes true marriage from a temporary alignment between two people who are attempting to escape their loneliness and to use one another for personal fulfillment.

If you look out in the world, you will find that true marriage seems to be rare. That is because there are not many people in the third stage of development. Marriage in the first stage of development is different from marriage in the second stage, and marriage in the third stage of development is entirely different from marriage in the first two stages.

Very few marriages can go from stage one to stage two and even fewer marriages can go from stage two to three. It is, therefore, common that people divorce if one of them is moving into the next stage. Here the person realizes that they must move forward and discovers that their partner cannot or will not go with them. And regardless of the agreements and cooperation that may exist between them, this is the truth of the matter. Marriages often fail here because they cannot keep pace with the natural evolution of the people involved.

True marriage must provide for others because what will be generated between two people will far exceed their own personal needs. They will become a source of genuine community for people around them. This is a result of true marriage. Whereas before, in the first two stages, individuals may have tried to give to others and succeeded to a certain extent, in the third stage the value and the essence of the marriage become a genuine source of nourishment for others.

Life for people, animals, plants and all other living things is all about providership. Nature is all about providership. It does not glorify the individual. It expresses itself through the individual. In this way, the individual becomes great and necessary without being given precedent or priority over others. This is borne out in nature. If you observe life around you, you realize that human beings have a great deal to learn from nature in order to become more natural themselves. There is a great deal of unlearning that must be accomplished here, and it can be accomplished because Knowledge is with you.

Within the three stages of development, there are three stages in marriage as well. Each one has a different emphasis. Generally speaking, marriage in stage one is about personal security. Marriage in stage two is about personal exploration. And marriage in stage three is about personal contribution. Though problems arise and learning continues through each of these stages, these are the primary emphases.

In each of the three stages of development, there is a process of surrender in marriage. In each stage, you acquire something and you give something up for another. What you acquire and what you give up will determine the kind of marriage you will have and how far it can ultimately go with you.

Ultimately, real surrender is allowing your body to serve your mind and your mind to serve your spirit, which is an expression of God. Here surrender re-establishes the proper order of authority within yourself. Yet many people think that surrender is where you give up what you really want for something else or where you give your power away to someone else. This is what many people in the first two stages so often assume. Yet real surrender is about finding who you are, why you are here, what you need to do and what your gifts are. Here things are willingly given up in order to clear the way for this great discovery. The sacrifice here is small and the reward is so great.

Marriage in the first stage is usually focused on such things as pleasure, emotional security, financial security and, in some cases, social advantage. To acquire these things, people knowingly or unknowingly sacrifice their freedom, their self-honesty, their integrity and their spiritual growth. This is common. The emphasis may be on love, but this is a very limited experience of love, and its primary emphasis is self-gratification or, in other words, getting what you want. After an enticing romantic phase, these relationships can struggle greatly as they come to terms with the demands of living a real life. As people go forward in these relationships, real intimacy and honesty tend to dry up as they attempt to protect their “investment” in their joint property and financial security. Children often become the reason for staying together, which puts the guilt and blame upon them for their parents’ increasingly unhappy relationship.

Sooner or later, one or, in rare cases, both people in the marriage will face the fact that their marriage is unfulfilling and that a reassessment and change must be made. Here Knowledge is beginning to stir in the person, encouraging them to seek a greater union either with their partner or with someone else. The person is now approaching the next stage of their development.

Marriage in the second stage of development holds much more promise. Here spiritual growth and personal honesty are given a higher priority, but there is still a great emphasis on emotional safety and financial security. These marriages often reflect the growing struggle between Knowledge and personal fulfillment that one or both of the people involved are experiencing. As a result, the marriage is burdened with the nearly impossible task of balancing two great forces that are struggling for predominance within one or both people in the relationship.

In stage two, neither person has yet discovered what their life is really about nor has a clear sense of where they are going. And often, they find out sooner or later that they are not going in the same direction as their partner. Here the emphasis on emotional safety and financial security becomes threatened and has to compete with the great uncertainty that their inner exploration can generate. Here people can surrender their health, their financial stability and sometimes even their sanity as they try and make sense out of the divergence between the direction of their individual life and their commitment in marriage. And sadly, many people end up sacrificing their own discovery of Knowledge as they try and keep their marriage and its benefits intact.

Marriage in the first stage has very little foundation and is generally threatened by the emergence of the truth and real honesty, which together usually reveal all that is genuinely lacking in the relationship. Marriage in the second stage often will reflect higher personal standards and goals but is nearly always beset by the fact that the people involved have not yet built their foundation upon Knowledge within themselves. As a result, they end up trying to satisfy both their personal desires and the deeper need of their soul at great cost to their well-being and personal stability. They may experience real love together, but real love here may force them to separate for reasons that they cannot at this point understand.

In essence, stage one is about dependence. Stage two is about independence. And stage three is about interdependence—dependence, independence and interdependence. Marriage in stage one is about building security and reinforcing dependence. This fundamentally opposes personal honesty and the emergence of Knowledge. Marriage in stage two is more about people discovering and differentiating themselves by learning to think and act independently. This produces personal growth but makes the prospect of attaining real union and commitment in relationship very difficult to establish.

Attempting marriage in the first two stages is very difficult. In either case, you must put the marriage at risk in order to find and follow Knowledge within yourself. If this cannot be done, you will end up abandoning your Knowledge altogether and with it any hope of finding real happiness and satisfaction in your life.

Your life is meant to take you somewhere. It is meant to enable you to reach real clarity and maturity within yourself and within your relationships. Here you must surrender your attempt at personal fulfillment in order to be free to find the real fulfillment that is waiting for you. This naturally leads you through the stages of development. Here you pass beyond dependence to become independent, and that is a great process in and of itself. And then eventually you will pass beyond independence to become interdependent. This is when marriage has the greatest potential, for you can only be in true marriage in a state of interdependence.

The third stage is the stage of interdependence. Here you come to realize that no matter how free and independent you have become, you can do nothing alone. Alone your life has little meaning and promise. Alone you are only a potential. To find your gifts, you need real relationships in your life, and they must be built upon Knowledge. Here surrender becomes the natural expression of your desire to give your life to those people and to the higher purpose that are meant for you. Here you do not really surrender yourself. Instead, your Knowledge surrenders you. Here you do not need to struggle over whether you want to give yourself to another. It is simply known.

What was thought to be important before becomes necessary now. Honesty, integrity, compatibility and service to the world may have been attempted in the first two stages, but now they have become the determining criteria regarding who you can be with and how you are to participate with them. Here the fantasies of love are dispelled in favor of the real power of love, which is connected to your higher purpose in the world. When you give your life to this, real love will emanate from you naturally. Yet neglect this and go against your higher purpose and love will degenerate into frantic desire and fear. Here love’s redeeming grace and power will be lost.

True marriage is the reward for passing through the stages of development. What was sought before now becomes truly possible and necessary. You are always preparing for true marriage, for true marriage is your goal. It is true contribution. This can be expressed through a union with one other person or with many people who are serving a great cause in the world. In either case, Knowledge, compatibility and service in the world are what distinguish a true marriage from all other relationships.

True marriage is where you exchange a small self for a greater self without losing your individuality. True marriage is where your individuality becomes a part of something greater and a vehicle for something greater. Here your individuality is an asset and not a liability. This frees you rather than holds you in bondage. In the earlier stages, you were bound to serve your desires and beliefs. Now you are serving something greater. This is the path of fulfillment.

True marriage is waiting for you. Yet you may not know what it will look like. You may not know if it will be with another person or with a group of people who are serving a great cause. You may not know if your marriage to another will be for the purpose of having children or not. Yet true marriage is waiting for you.

Whenever and wherever true marriage has been established, a great blessing has occurred in the world, a miracle has been demonstrated. Two or more people have transcended their limits. These alliances, as rare as they may be, are truly beneficial and have great foundation. They are what has kept Knowledge alive in the world. They are what keep humanity advancing.

In true marriage, you are able to experience the union you have with your Inner Teachers and Spiritual Family with another person. This union is now being expressed in the world. Once you have experienced your union with your Spiritual Family, you will not want anything less in your marriage with another.

Once a true marriage has been established, a commitment to growth must be undertaken and maintained. The desire for this will emanate naturally. Yet you cannot be neglectful and take for granted that the other person will be with you forever. For if you neglect what you must do together, and if you neglect what you must face within yourself, then even a marriage with great promise will wither. This relationship must still be cultivated and nourished. Without nourishment, it will die. It will cease to progress, and without progress, it cannot maintain itself.

From a point of view where separation is protected and defended, truth appears to be an undermining threat to a person’s happiness and personal fulfillment. But to Knowledge, the truth is a blessing, a welcome and wonderful guest whom you wish would stay forever, an experience so unlike anything in contrast to it and so totally beneficial and self-affirming that in time you will seek nothing else.

Therefore, accept that true marriage is inevitable for you because you are married to your Spiritual Family and your Inner Teachers already. This marriage must express itself in the world in your relationships with others. Accept that you are committed already to your Spiritual Family and to your Inner Teachers. In the world, you are married and committed to your ideals until you are able to break free to experience marriage and commitment within the context of your real relationships with others.